Greece to Mexico to Syracuse…to your kitchen!

If you’re considering purchasing an Instant Pot, I share a super amazing deal at the end of this post. Scroll down and check it out!

If we’re friends on Facebook, you may have noticed that I posted a link to a blog which I was featured in about the holiday of Sukkot.  Sukkot is the Jewish Harvest Festival, in which we remember the Jews wandering in the desert for 40 years by building temporary huts.  Many will eat, hang out, and even sleep in a sukkah!  If you the blog, you can head over here and check it out.

After my last blog, Margo asked me to feature some of the recipes that I have made. So, in keeping with my promise to do so, here are a few recipes which I made over the past week, to celebrate Sukkot with friends and family:

Egg Lemon Orzo Soup – After having a few spoonfuls, my wife, Amy, told me that this was the exact soup which she eats at a Greek restaurant which she visits for lunch every once in a while.  This one is a slam dunk, with only 4 ingredients, it’s super tasty, and super easy.

IMG_0100

Chicken Tortilla Soup – I paired this one with make your own taco night. I made some jasmine rice in the Instant Pot, and served this as the starter course to keep with a Mexican theme.  You can modify to your taste.  I added only a few drops of hot sauce, skipped the cumin, and left off the cheese.  The limes give it a nice tangy flavor, that probably would balance a bit more with the spices, but, it was really good!

Syracuse Salt Potatoes – These have been all the rage lately, and I finally tried them.  I’m so glad that I did!  The recipe calls for small white potatoes (which I could not find) or fingerlings, which I went with.  This was so easy to make, and came out perfect.  The recipe calls for a butter dipping sauce, but, they were great plain – but imagine how much better they would be with butter, right!?  These could easily be served cool or room temperature at a later time after cooking.

IMG_0099

Ready to get in on the Instant Pot action? Ready to buy a second pot? There’s a super amazing deal on the Instant Pot again.  Starting on 10/12, the Instant Pot DUO 7-in-1 Programmable Pressure Cooker is on sale at Kohl’s for $99.  Use your Kohl’s Charge, and enter code HOME10 to save $10 off your purchase of $50 or more.  Then, enter code FALL30 to save 30% off of your purchase.  Be sure to add code FREE4MVC to get free shipping.  This should bring your total to around $63 plus tax.  At under $70 this is an amazing deal you should not miss!  Now that’s a super amazing deal!  Want to save another 2% at Kohl’s, and more at many other retailers?  Sign up for Mr. Rebates and search Kohl’s before you shop online!

 

 

Leave a Reply

